For the first time in school history, the Spartans of Start High School secured a berth in the state football tournament.

The team -- one of 16 area teams that got to extend their high school football seasons -- traveled to Westerville Central in Columbus on Saturday, November 7, for a first round Division I game. Westerville Central (9-1) was the No. 4 seed and Coach Tyson Harder’s Spartans were ranked No. 13 in the 16-team Region 1 bracket.

Despite losing the City League Player of the Year Stephon Watson, the Spartan football squad fought until the end of the game, finally losing 49-30.

Brandon Winters had a great game, rushing for 254 yards on 34 carries. K’Juan Chandler also scored two rushing touchdowns. At one point, the Spartans were down 42-12 when Brandon led three straight touchdown drives to put a scare into the War Hawks.

The Start team finished the regular season with a record of 9-1 (finishing its season on Friday, October 30 with a win against Rogers High School). The team's 5-0 record in City League play secured for Start its first City League title since 1978.

We are TPS Proud that the 2015 Spartans made history for Start High School and that they played with such heart in their first playoff game.

The team ranked up two more honors. First is the fact that Coach Harder is currently in the running to be named as the 2015 Fall Coach of the Season, part of the BCSN Coach of the Year program. That program recognizes the achievements of high school coaches within the Buckeye CableSystem Toledo service area. You can help him win by voting here: (until November 22 at 11:59 p.m.) One vote per device per 24 hour period. Good luck, Coach Harder!

The second honor goes to the following Start varsity football players for being selected to the Toledo City League All-City teams:


Stephon Watson – Player of the Year/1st Team Running Back

Mike Williams and Detryck Bell-Singletary – 1st Team Wide Receiver

Tino Lopez, Derrick Austin, Ja’Neil Douglas – 1st Team Offensive Line

Anis Galal – 1st Team Placekicier

Brandon Winters – 2nd Team Quarterback


Derrick Austin, Ja’Neil Douglas – 1st Team Defensive Line

K’Juan Chandler, Jacob Boling – 1st Team Linebacker

Christian Matamoros – 1st Team Defensive Back

Evan Butler – 1st Team Punter

Tino Lopez, Santo Perez – 2nd Team Defensive Line

And kudos to Coach Harder for being selected Toledo City League Coach of the Year.

Updated on November 9, 2015