Leadership Toledo has again this year honored a number of the young leaders in Toledo Public Schools who so generously shared their time and talents in service to their community.

Again this year, several students attending TPS high schools were the recipients of the prestigious Youth Jefferson Award (commonly referred to as the Nobel Prize for Public Service).

Special certificates, presented with permission from the national Jefferson Awards Foundation, were also given to several advisors/principals for the support they have offered the students and for working "to create schools that thrive with enthusiasm for charity, community service, and teamwork," wrote Kristina White, director of community impact for Leadership Toledo.

Here is a complete list of the students and advisors:

Bowsher High School 
Colleen Carr, Jocelyn Jackson, Abby Tandoh and Meghann Barnum (advisor)

Rogers High School 
Aniya Easterly, Taniia Keys, Abigail Casey, Lanisha Hite, Charece Suttler

Scott High School
Tylor Haney, Charlvon Gaston

Start High School 
Cassidy Wilson, Te'anna Sims and Virgie Hamrick (advisor)

Toledo Early College
Tala Abou-Dahech and Dr. Robin Wheatley (principal)

Toledo Technology Academy
Dakota Szarlip; Samuel Drees; Elizabeth Skowronski; Robert Taylor; Jacob Mitchell; Edward Burzynski; Nathanael Ford; Brandon Coykendall; Connor McClure, Cole Sassaman and Vandita Prasad (advisor) 

Waite High School 
Bryonna McAlister, John G Skouroukos VI and Todd Deem (principal)

Woodward High School
Isaiah Jefferson and Aspen White

Posted on June 2, 2015