The Foundation's board of directors has committed to raise $2.2 million by the end of fiscal year 2020 to fund its' initiatives. This bold 20-20 Plan will demand a high level of engagement and support from throughout the community, and will be the primary focus of the Foundation in the years ahead.

One of the Foundation's most important initiatives is providing scholarships for Toledo Public Schools graduates. A total of $32,000 in scholarships was awarded to the Class of 2017, a mix of scholarships from the Foundation and a number of special scholarships.

The scholarships were given to the recipients during the annual Celebration of Excellence, held on April 28 at the Toledo Club. The top academic award, the TPS Foundation-Excellence in Academics Award for $1500, was given to Kyle Uerkwitz, of Bowsher High School, and Rodney Farthing, of Toledo Early College High School.


The 2017 winners of Foundation Awards ($1,000 each) were:

Bowsher High School

Cassidy Peterson

Jones Leadership Academy

Dante Moore

Rogers High School

Grady Guthrie

Scott High School

Kimaree Lawson

Start High School

Brandon Smith

Toledo Early College High School

Tawfiq About-Dahech

Toledo Technology Academy

Elizabeth Skowronski

Waite High School

Jaymie Williams

Woodward High School

Savannah Araiza


Special scholarships

Sherman School ($2000) Dillon Johnson  Woodward High School 
PNC/Ella P. Stewart
Memorial Scholarship ($1500)
Jaszman Butler Woodward High School 
Tyronne and Edna
Robertson Scholarship ($1500)
Kaitlin Strunk Start High School 
Frank & Shirley Dick Natural Science
Technology Center Scholarship ($1,200)
Brooke Gault Toledo Early College 
Emory Leverette
Memorial Scholarship ($1,000)
Allicia Darden Scott High School
Harriet Whitney
Education Scholarship ($1000)
Nicholas Perry Bowsher High School
Larry Sykes/LMHA
'I Have a Dream Award' ($1500)
Maya Jones Start High School
Robertson's Scholarship ($1,500)  Jose Merino   Waite High School 
Spark's Tenacity Scholarship ($2000) Ava Whitson Bowsher High School
TPS Foundation -
Young Men of Excellence ($1500)
Robert Lawson Waite High School
TPS Foundation - Young Women of
Excellence ($1500)
Samara Jones Woodward High School 
University of Toledo ($1000) Reann Issac Bowsher High School
University of Toledo ($1000) Castillo Gurtzeiler Start High School
University of Toledo ($1000) Kimberly LaLonde Toledo Early College
University of Toledo ($1000) Robert A. Taylo Toledo Technology Academy
University of Toledo ($1000) Mackenzie Forbes Waite High School
Foundation Career Tech Award ($500) Sarah Fuller Rogers High School
Foundation Career Tech Award ($500) Keith Brennan Rogers High School
Foundation Career Tech Award ($500) Nathan Brennan Rogers High School